This past Saturday, the New Mexico House of Representatives voted on a
bill that would increase penalties on public officials convicted in
corruption charges including embezzlement of funds and bribery.

Over the last few years, we’ve seen scandal after scandal involving
public officials involved in unethical behavior. Fortunately, the bill
passed the House — though with no thanks to many of our local
Democratic politicians.  26 Democrats, including Ben Lujan Sr., Jim
Trujillo, and Lucky Varela all voted no.

Why would an elected official NOT vote to hold accountable public
servants that abuse their positions of power?  Who are they

Now’s our time to elect legislators who will put the best interests of
the people of New Mexico first.